As consumer demand increases for vegan and vegetarian processed foods, more suitable products are reaching the shelves. Many of these are targetted specifically at vegans, vegetarians, and people with dairy, egg, nut or wheat allergies, and so are clearly labelled. However, there are a lot of products available which appear to be vegetarian or vegan - but are they?
One problem is that not every ingredient has to be declared on the label. Minor components may not be vegan or vegetarian, and may not appear on the label. Another problem is that some ingredients may be animal or non-animal derived (for example, glycerol), and this is not always declared. So it is always best to check the label for a declaration that the product is suitable. If your favourite product might be vegan or vegetarian, but is not thoroughly labelled, then contact the manufacturer and ask them if it is - and ask them to label it!